NEB-19 Recent Developments in Gravity, Athens

Eugenides Foundation, Athens, Greece

Eugenides Foundation, Athens, Greece

387 Syggrou Ave.
Christos Charmousis (CNRS), George Pappas (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Emmanouil Saridakis (NTUA Athens), Nikolaos Stergioulas (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Andreas Zoupas (University of Thessaly)

The 19th conference in the series "Recent Developments in Gravity" will be organized by the Hellenic Society for Relativity, Gravitation and Cosmology. A list of all previous conferences in this series can be found here.

The scientific program will include plenary talks, as well as parallel sessions (with invited and contributed talks). The topics of the conference are 

  • Gravitational Waves
  • Relativistic Astrophysics
  • Alternative Theories of Gravity
  • Mathematical Relativity
  • Cosmology
  • Quantum Gravity

Plenary Speakers

E. Berti (Johns Hopkins)
E. Gourgoulhon (Meudon)
R. Gregory (Durham)
M. Dafermos (Cambridge/Princeton)
S. Katsanevas (EGO-VIRGO)
K. Kokkotas (Tuebingen)
E. Plionis (NOA, Athens)
D. Psaltis (Arizona)
Th. Sotiriou (Nottingham)
M. Sakellariadou (King’s College)
S. Weinfurtner (Nottingham) 

In addition, there will be a number of invited session speakers (to be announced).

Scientific Program

Regular talks (plenary and parallel sessions) will be on July 1-3 only. The last day (July 4th) is reserved for optional social activities.

Plenary talks will be 45 min. long, invited session talks will be 30 min. long and contributed talks will be 20 min. long.

We welcome the submission of abstracts for the parallel sessions.

Meeting Venue

The conference will place at the Eugenides Foundation in AthensGreece. The venue is located in a southern suburb of Athens, near the coastal line of Faliro

Important dates

Registration and abstract submission opens: 31 December 2019.
Early Registration closes: 1 March 2020.
Abstract submission closes: 15 March 2020.

Abstract submission 

You may use the link on the left to submit an abstract to the conference. Please, indicate whether you would like your contribution to be considered as an oral or poster presentation. Please ensure that you have registered with the conference before submitting your abstract. You will be notified of acceptance after the deadline for submitting abstracts. Depending on the available slots for oral presentation, a poster presentation may be offered, instead.


Hotels and other types of accommodation can be found in the area around the venue and in the center of Athens. Please book early and check local bus connections to the venue. Please beware of unsolicited advertising about accommodation through email or phone by private individuals - the organizing committee will not contact you to offer accommodation.

Conference Registration Fee

The general registration fee is structured as follows:

Early registration fee: 160€
Late registration fee: 200€

Members of the Hellenic Society for Relativity, Gravitation and Cosmology as well as BSc/MSc/PhD students who are supervised by members should consult this page for information on registration fees.

The conference fee includes conference material, conference dinner and coffee breaks. 

Travel Information

From Athens International Airport (El. Venizelos), you can reach the venue by public transportation (bus or bus+metro). 


Speakers are welcome to use their own laptops or provide their presentations in pdf format. Please make sure you have tried your presentation 10 minutes before your session starts. The organizing committee will assist you with that.


Posters will be displayed in a dedicated area of the venue. 

Social program

There will be a conference dinner. Additional social events will be announced here.

Scientific Organizing Committee

Christos  Charmousis CNRS - University Paris-Saclay
George Pappas Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Emmanuel Saridakis NTUA, Athens
Nikolaos Stergioulas Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Andreas  Zoupas University of Thessaly

Conference website: 

For additional info contact: 



  • Adriano Viganò
  • Alexander Yosifov
  • Andreas Zoupas
  • Andronikos Paliathanasis
  • Antonios Mitsopoulos
  • Antonios Nathanail
  • Aristeidis Nikolaidis
  • Athanasios Bakopoulos
  • Bertha Cuadros-Melgar
  • Christos Charmousis
  • Demetrios Papadopoulos
  • Dimitrios Psaltis
  • Elham Nazari
  • Elvis Barakovic
  • Emanuele Berti
  • Emmanuel Saridakis
  • Eric Gourgoulhon
  • George Muzlanov
  • George Pappas
  • Georgios Loukes-Gerakopoulos
  • Georgios Vretinaris
  • Hamed Masaood
  • Hayley Macpherson
  • Ioannis Koutalios
  • Jorge Ovalle
  • Kostas Kokkotas
  • Laura Donnay
  • Leonhard Kehrberger
  • Mairi Sakellariadou
  • Manolis Plionis
  • Marcus Högås
  • Maria Zioga
  • Michael Kenna-Allison
  • Mihalis Dafermos
  • Muhammad Farasat Shamir
  • Nikolaos Chatzarakis
  • Nikolaos Dimakis
  • Nikolaos Kalogeropoulos
  • Nikolaos Karnesis
  • Nikolaos Stergioulas
  • Pantelis Apostolopoulos
  • Partha Sarathi Majumdar
  • Perseas Christodoulidis
  • Pradyumn Sahoo
  • Ruth Gregory
  • Stamatis Vretinaris
  • Stavros Katsanevas
  • Stella Kiorpelidi
  • Supriya Pan
  • Theophanes Grammenos
  • Thomas Sotiriou
  • Viktor Gakis
  • Zacharias Roupas
The agenda of this meeting is empty