1st LISA in Greece Workshop

Τμήμα Φυσικής

Τμήμα Φυσικής

Georgios Pappas , Nikolaos Karnesis (AUTh) , Nikolaos Stergioulas

Welcome to the 1st ΛISA in Greece Workshop! 

The Laser Interferometer Space Antenna (LISA) is a space-based Gravitational Wave (GW) observatory mission scheduled for launch in the mid 2030s. LISA is going to probe the lower part of the GW spectrum, aiming to measure signals from a variety of sources.  These include Super-Massive and Stellar-mass Black Hole Binaries, ultra-Compact Binaries originating in our galactic neighborhood, Extreme Mass Ratio Inspiral, and possibly a Stochastic GW Background that may originate from cosmological sources. Measuring such signals will have an immense impact on GW physics, Cosmology, and Astrophysics altogether.   

Currently, LISA is at the end of the phase A stage, where the initial design is being defined and communicated with ESA. This poses a great opportunity for the scientific community and tech industry based in Greece, to actively contribute to the development of this ESA flagship mission, as parts of a consolidated national effort supported by the Hellenic Space Center (HSC). A contribution may come both in the form of instrumentation (flight hardware), as well as data analysis and software, and dedicated Data Centers. This workshop will be focused on discussing these possibilities, and will serve as our first step towards bringing the science and technology driving forces of Greece, into the development of the LISA mission.

Attention: All Times in the schedule are in Central European Time (CET)!

For your convenience, you can download a PDF version below (both for local EET and in CET).

Zoom link for the meeting in not available any more.

List of acronyms used within the LISA collaboration.

Link to the meeting minutes. Interested parties can edit it in order to state their interest, but also to keep in touch for our next steps. It will also serve as our baseline for the writing of our LISA in Greece whitepaper.


  • Alexandros Ntigkaris
  • Alexandros Tavernarakis
  • Alkiviadis Kanakis-Pegios
  • Anastasia Topalidou
  • Anastasios Anastasiadis
  • Anastasios-Faidon Retselis
  • Andreas Karipis
  • Andreas Lymperis
  • Andreas Tsigkas-Kouvelis
  • Antoine Petiteau
  • Antonios Ntellas
  • Antri Machattou
  • Apostolos Xenakis
  • Areti Eleni
  • Argyrios Loules
  • Argyro Sasli
  • Ariadne Pascalidi
  • Aris Mitrousis
  • Asimakis Anthopoulos
  • Aspasia-Sofia Pastrikou
  • Athanasios Bakopoulos
  • Charalampos Markakis
  • Charalampos Moustakidis
  • Charis Anastopoulos
  • Charis Tsakonas
  • Chris Kouvaris
  • Christos Kyriazoglou
  • Christos Mermigkas
  • Christos Moustakas
  • Christos Simos
  • Denis Vavougios
  • Dimitra Tseneklidou
  • Dimitrios Chatzitheocharis
  • Dimitrios Loupas
  • Dimitrios Pesios
  • Dimitrios Psychas
  • Dimitris Dimitriou
  • Dimitris Kugiumtzis
  • Dorota Rosinska
  • Eirini C. Telali
  • Eleanna Choraiti Sideri
  • Elena Antonopoulou
  • Eleni Lavasa
  • Elias Vagenas
  • Emily Xanthopoulos
  • Emmanuel Saridakis
  • Erato Angeliki Benetou
  • Evgenia Koutsoumpou
  • Fotios Anagnostopoulos
  • George Avdikos
  • George Pappas
  • Georgia Theodoropoulou
  • Georgios Loukes-Gerakopoulos
  • Georgios Pliakis
  • Georgios Vachtanidis
  • Georgios Vasilopoulos
  • Giorgos Tsalis
  • Giorgos Vretinaris
  • Ilias Papadimitriou
  • Ilias Theodorakopoulos
  • Ioanna Danai Messaritaki
  • Ioanna Karavitaki
  • Ioannis Daglis
  • Ioannis Drougkakis
  • Ioannis Georgantopoulos
  • Ioannis Liodis
  • Ioannis Zacheilas
  • Iván Muñoz Rodriguez
  • Jens Reiche
  • John Antoniadis
  • Jorge Sanchez
  • Konstantina Vrontaki
  • Konstantinos Antoniadis
  • Konstantinos Gourgouliatos
  • Konstantinos Kilmetis
  • Konstantinos Kokkotas
  • Konstantinos Kostaros
  • Konstantinos Mountakis
  • Konstantinos Vyrsokinos
  • Kostas PILAFTSIS
  • Kyriakos Destounis
  • Lazaros Souvaitzis
  • Leandros Perivolaropoulos
  • Margarita Belali
  • Maria Despotaki
  • Maria Georgousi
  • Maria Karampiperi
  • Maria Myrto Pegioudi
  • Maria Petronikolou
  • Maria Petropoulou
  • Martin Gehler
  • Martin Hewitson
  • Michalis Papachristou
  • Nectaria Gizani
  • Nick Sergis
  • Nikolaos Karnesis
  • Nikolaos Koutsopoulos
  • Nikolaos Stergioulas
  • Oliver Jennrich
  • Panagiota Kanti
  • Panagiotis Bountzioukas
  • Panagiotis Iosif
  • Pandora Examilioti
  • Paschalis Veskos
  • Paul McNamara
  • Pavlina Tsiapi
  • Pavlos Laskos-Patkos
  • Peter Bantis
  • Petros Asimakis
  • Petros Petridis
  • Polychronis Koliogiannis
  • Sahil Mathur
  • Savvas Chanlaridis
  • Sofia Papaioannou
  • Spyros Basilakos
  • Stamatis Vretinaris
  • Stavroula Katsioli
  • Stelios Bollanos
  • Stella Boula
  • Stylianos Romanopoulos
  • Theodoros Karakasidis
  • Theodoros Pailas
  • Theodoros Panouchos
  • Theodoros Papanikolaou
  • Theodoros Sarris
  • Theodoros Soultanis
  • Triantafyllos Kormpakis
  • Vangelis Kollias
  • Varvara Kotsiourou
  • Vasilis K. Oikonomou
  • Vera Agalianou
  • Vlasios Petousis
  • Wolf von Klitzing